What Not To Do- Twitter Edition

Whenever a new bar starts following me on Twitter I like to take some time to look at their posts and web page. I always enjoy seeing how different bars are using Twitter, Facebook and other social media to promote themselves. Every so often I come across a bar whose Tweets just don’t appeal to me. I don’t like to offer unsolicited advice to these bars but I would like to share what my 2 biggest problems are with some bar’s Twitters and Facebook pages.

When you are tweeting for your bar please do not only talk about yourself. This morning I was looking at a bar’s Twitter page and it was just a listing of all their specials and Happy Hours. There was absolutely no interaction with anyone else which sort of takes the “Networking” (and the “Social” for that matter) out of social networking. Even something as simple as retweeting can show that you are involved and not just promoting yourself.

Another thing to be aware of when you are tweeting is repetition. You have to walk a fine line with Twitter. There are millions of things constantly being posted on Twitter and you want to make sure yours gets seen. However, just copying and pasting the same tweets over and over again every hour makes it seem like a robot is handling your Twitter account. There’s nothing wrong with getting the same message out a few times a day but try to say it differently each time and make it personal (maybe even funny).

I’ve been on the fence all morning about posting this bar’s Twitter ID here. I would love for people to see first hand what I’m talking about.  I finally decided that posting their ID would just be too negative. I’m sure most people won’t have to look to far in to Twitter to find a bar like the one I’m talking about. Just make sure it’s not your bar.